HAYS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT MINUTES



SEPTEMBER 13, 2021

STATE OF TEXAS * COUNTY OF HAYS *

ON THIS THE 13th DAY OF SEPTEMBER A.D., 2021, IN THE HAYS COUNTY COURTHOUSE, 111 E. SAN ANTONIO ST., SUITE 301, SAN MARCOS, TEXAS, THE COMMISSIONERS' COURT OF HAYS COUNTY, TEXAS, MET IN SPECIAL MEETING. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT, TO-WIT:

RUBEN BECERRA
DEBBIE GONZALES INGALSBE
LON A. SHELL
WALT SMITH
ELAINE H. CÁRDENAS

COUNTY JUDGE COMMISSIONER, PCT. 1 COMMISSIONER, PCT. 3 COMMISSIONER, PCT. 4 COUNTY CLERK

Clerk's Note: For complete transcript go to Hays County Website https://hayscountytx.com/commissioners-court/court-video/Transcript can be translated into any language through Google.com.

WITH COMMISSIONER MARK JONES BEING ABSENT AND THE FOLLOWING PROCEEDINGS WERE HAD, THAT IS:

Judge Becerra called the meeting to order.

36799 DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION TO CREATE THE HAYS COUNTY SALARY GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE FISCAL YEAR PURSUANT TO CHAPTER 152 OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT CODE.

Judge Becerra stated the meeting today is to draw a bigger pool of names. Mark Kennedy, General Counsel, reviewed the statute pertaining to the Salary Grievance Committee. The first request for a hearing of the committee was received on 09/01/2021. He stated after drawing 30 names today, that the committee can be formed, along with alternates. Elaine H. Cardenas, County Clerk, gave recommendations for future Grievance Committee meetings and asked for clarification on which office is responsible for the coordination of said committee. Judge Becerra stated the County Clerks Office will handle the full process for future committees. Judge Becerra pulled the names and Elaine H. Cardenas read aloud the following: Bobby Henson, Shana Red, Scott Fiser, Jesus Almanza, Juan Paredez, Virgie Herrera, Douglas Meyers, Danielle Doyle, Dante Foster, Stephen Rothrock, Walter Kennedy, Payten Spielberger, Seth Levanen, Jacob Gannon, Derek Bartz, Jennifer Hier, Matthew Buck, Guadalupe Leal, John McCoy, Arcelia Gibbs, Brian Joe, Lenase Hughley, Aaron Garcia, Brianna Bonnet, Sonja Lane, Mark Boyd, Raymond Benoist, Easterling Davis III, Adolfo Herrera, and Amy Wilson. Judge Becerra stated the meeting will take place Monday, September 20, 2021 @ 4:30 pm. Mark Kennedy stated the members chosen from the first attempt will be used and the names pulled today will be added. Commissioner Shell asked if there could be a stipulation added to include department heads in the event there were not enough participants. Mark Kennedy stated we could call for an Emergency Meeting if we are short of members that will participate. Commissioner Ingalsbe asked for clarification on the committee members. A motion was made by Commissioner Shell, seconded by Commissioner Ingalsbe to accept the names that have been read.

ADJOURNMENT

MILLIAN

A motion was made by Judge Becerra, seconded by Commissioner Smith to adjourn court at 2:52 p.m.

I, ELAINE H. CÁRDENAS, COUNTY CLERK and EXOFFICIO CLERK OF THE COMMISSIONERS' COURT, do hereby certify that the foregoing contains a true and accurate record of the proceedings had by the Hays County Commissioners' Court on September 13, 2021.

ELAINE H. CÁRDENAS, COUNTY CLERK AND EXOFFICIO CLERK OF THE COMMISSIONERS' COURT OF HAYS COUNTY, TEXAS

Caur &

Cardena