Select Page

Hays County Elections Canvassed by Commissioners Court

Hays County Commissioners Court canvassed the 2020 election for Hays County races and the Parks and Open Spaces Bond (Proposition A) at its regular meeting on November 10, 2020.

The results of the elections are:

Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 3                                                                                   

Millie Thompson              53,458                        Tacie Zelhart      50,602

Hays County Sheriff                                                

Gary Cutler                      53,715                         Alex Villalobos    51,685

Commissioner Pct. 3                                                

Lon Shell                       12,745                           Lisa Prewitt         11,739

Tax Assessor-Collector                                                                                 

Jenifer O’Kane              53,075                           Daphne Tenorio    51,596

Commissioner Pct. 1 (uncontested)                                                                                 

Debbie Ingalsbe

Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 1 (uncontested)                                                                                   Joanne Prado

Constable Pct. 1                                                                                   

David Peterson             18,726                              Eliseo Galarza    8,489

Constable Pct. 2                                                                                

Michael Torres            12,778                                Steve Avalos     10,248

Constable Pct. 3                                                          

Don Montague            7,384                                  Cynthia Millonzi   4,085

Constable Pct. 4 (uncontested)                                    

Ron Hood

Constable Pct. 5 (uncontested)                                    

John Ellen

Proposition A (Parks and Open Spaces)                       

For                           71,861                                     Against                 31,463

Elections Administrator Jennifer Anderson provided this additional update to the Court:

  • Total voters 109,107 (71.03% of registered voters)
  • 12,548 were mail-in ballots
  • 683 were limited ballots
  • Two (2) emergency ballots
  • 2,113 provisional ballots; 434 were accepted by the Ballot Board

According to Anderson, most provisional ballots were due to voters that requested absentee ballots but then came to a polling location in person to vote.

“Anyone who requested an absentee ballot and then went to a polling location could vote regularly if they brought that paper ballot with them,” she said. “If they didn’t surrender a mail ballot at the polling location, they could vote provisionally until our office could verify that we have not received their paper copy.”

She added that typically, provisional voters are either not registered in Hays County or not registered in Texas.

During Commissioners Court, Anderson thanked everyone who helped make the 2020 elections run smoothly, including poll workers, county staff, and the voters.

Hays County Judge Ruben Becerra congratulated the election winners.

“I want to thank all of the candidates who ran for offices in Hays County,” he said. “I now look forward to putting the election behind us and continuing to do the work of the people of the county.”

The official Hays County Elections results shown above can also be found on our website.

# # #

Hays County