Select Page

Stormwater & MS4 Areas

About the Stormwater and MS4 Areas

Hays County is subject to the requirements of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (TPDES) General Permit No. TXR040000, issued January 24, 2019, which sets the requirements and conditions for stormwater discharges from a small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) to surface waters in the state.

The County previously developed and implemented a stormwater management program (SWMP) to comply with the original TPDES Small MS4 General Permit issued in August 2007 since it was located within the San Marcos-Buda-Kyle, Texas Urbanized Area (UA), as defined by the 2000 U.S. Census.

For more information on the Urbanized Areas & Urban Clusters, please visit

Educational Materials

Protecting Water Quality
Protect Local Water Ways
Texas Lawn Care
How a House Works
EPA NPDES Stormwater Program

TCEQ Stormwater Permits
TCEQ Wastewater Permits


Hays County MS4 Map
Hays County Notice of Intent
Hays County Stormwater Management Program (SWMP)
Hays County SWMP Compiled Report (Full)
Stormwater Runoff FAQ
Construction & Stormwater FAQ

For more information or to file a formal complaint,
please contact the Hays County Transportation Department

2171 Yarrington Rd. | Kyle, Texas 78640 | Phone: 512.393.7385  | Email:

You may also use our Google form to submit a confidential report:


Hays County