Select Page

Public Outreach Meeting Notice: Hays County Multi-jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan

Hays County, along with the Cities of Dripping Springs, Wimberly, Kyle, Buda, Mountain City, Niederwald, Woodcreek, Hays and the Village of Bear Creek, will be offering two open house meetings to solicit public input on the updated Hazard Mitigation Plan. No reservations are needed to attend.

The first meeting will be held in Kyle at City Hall on Wednesday, January 24, 2024, from 6 pm to 8 pm. The address is 100 W. Center St., Kyle, TX 78640.

The second meeting will be held in Dripping Springs at City Hall on Thursday, January 25, 2024, from 6 pm to 8 pm. The address is 511 Mercer St., Dripping Springs, TX 78620.

The Hazard Mitigation Plan is a comprehensive document for communities to engage in effective planning that can reduce long-term risks to life and property from natural hazards, such as floods, droughts, hurricanes, tornados, winter storms, and wildfires. The Hays County updated plan has been in development for approximately one year, and public input must take place at this time to complete the plan.

Once the 2024 plan is complete, it will be reviewed by the Texas Department of Emergency Management and then by FEMA. Once FEMA approval is given, the plan will be accepted by resolution in each participating jurisdiction, and they will be eligible to apply for FEMA hazard mitigation grant funding.

For more information, contact: Natalie Frels, Hays County Communications Manager,

Hays County