Select Page

Hays County welcomes new fire marshal

SAN MARCOS, Texas — The Hays County Commissioners Court welcomed Steve Seddig as the county’s new fire marshal at its meeting on Tuesday, March 26.

Seddig comes to Hays County with more than 28 years of service in the city of Wylie Fire Rescue. He has served as fire marshal and division chief and was a commissioned Texas peace officer for 22 years. A graduate of the Executive Fire Officer program, Seddig has a Bachelor of Science in Emergency Administration from the University of North Texas, an Associate of Applied Science in Law Enforcement Technology from Rio Salado College and is currently pursuing his Master of Forensic Anthropology at Texas State University.

He comes highly qualified as a certified Texas master fire investigator and an International Association of Arson Investigators Certified Fire Investigator. Seddig is also the elected president of the Collin County Fire & Arson Investigators Association and was instrumental in bringing to Texas one of only two annual fire death investigation courses in the country that uses human case studies or willed body donations.

“As the Office of Emergency Services (OES) director, the department and I are extremely excited to add Steve Seddig to our staff,” said Mike Jones. “He will be an excellent resource and brings a host of knowledge and experience to the fastest growing county of our size in the nation.”

Under Texas law, the Fire Marshal’s Office is responsible for the protection of life and property through code enforcement, plans review, fire inspections and fire cause determination.

“I’m excited to serve my coworkers and citizens of Hays County. The interview process gave me a chance to meet the leadership, Emergency Services District (ESD) fire chiefs we serve and cohorts,” Seddig said. “During this process, my knowledge of Hays County increased, as well as the challenges we face by the pace of growth. I’m looking forward to being a part of this organization and community.”

Seddig officially began as the Hays County fire marshal on Tuesday, March 26.

Hays County